## MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING

Held at 9:30 a.m. on Monday, January 29, 2024, in the Conference Room of the LASEC offices, located at 10401 W. Grand Avenue, Franklin Park, Illinois.

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Mr. Jonak called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak Absent: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Also Present: Kevin Wolf & Todd Faulkner

2. CLOSED SESSION

Motion to move to closed session at 9:30 a.m. as presented by Mr. Prather and seconded by Dr. Rashid for the purpose of:

"The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, and or dismissal of specific employees of the public body, or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity." 5 ILCS 120/2 (c)(1)

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak Nayes: none Absent: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall Motion Carried

The Executive Committee moved to Closed Session at 9:30 a.m.

The Executive Committee exited the Closed Session at 10:04 a.m. and returned to Open Session.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak Absent: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

- 3. PUBLIC COMMENTS None
- 4. ACTION ITEMS

## MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING

Motion to approve Action Item 1. Action on a grievance under Section 12.1 of LASEC's Employee Grievance Procedure.

The Executive Committee has authorized the Chairman of the Executive Committee to communicate the decision and the summary response denying the grievance filed by Dr. Jeronna Hansberry as presented by Dr. Katzin and seconded by Mr. Maguire.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak Nayes: none Absent: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall Motion Carried

## 5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:05 a.m. as presented by Dr. Polyak and seconded by Mr. Prather.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall Motion Carried

Respectfully submitted, Kevin M. Wolf Executive Director