MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

Held at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, November 29, 2022, in the Conference Room of LASEC offices, located at 10401 W. Grand Avenue, Franklin Park, Illinois 60131.

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Mr. Maguire called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Roll Call:

Present: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan

Rashid, & Mr. Michael Maguire

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

3. DISCUSSION / INFORMATION ITEMS

3.1. Director's Report

The needs assessment process was reviewed with the target of February as a completion goal for the entire cooperative. An initial review of what opportunities exist for improving the continuum of service delivery in the cooperative was discussed as it connects to the least restrictive learning environment data. The committee reviewed that teachers in the K-1 age group are seeing a high rate of unexpected behavior and teams need support to intervene. The committee discussed how students are presenting with a greater need for support in learning and how that impacts where students are receiving specialized instruction. The opportunities could include the concept of instructional coaching for specially designed instruction and interventionists to support teams to improve student self-management skills in the home school setting. The LASEC leadership team will build out a recommendation to address these concepts.

3.2. Professional Learning Update

Attendance lists will be shared with the Executive Committee regarding who is participating in the Admin Think Tank monthly meetings.

3.3. ESY 2023

The locations for ESY will be Union Ridge for students in grades PK-8 and Ridgewood High School for students in grades 9-22.

3.4. Cash Flow Report-October

As presented in the board packet, no questions.

3.5. Richlee Transportation Contract Extension FY24

The Executive Committee values maintaining the level of service for transportation and the increase in costs are reflective of our economy.

MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

CONSENT AGENDA

- 4.1. Accounts Payable Dated: 10/28/2022-11/21/2022 \$84,646.41
- 4.2. 2. The EC Minutes for November 1, 2022
- 4.3. 3. Personnel (nothing this month)

Motion to approve the consent agenda as presented by Dr. David H. Katzin and seconded by Dr. Kristin Kopta.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan

Rashid, & Mr. Michael Maguire

Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried.

5. CLOSED SESSION

Motion to move to closed session at 9:01 am as presented by Dr. Jan Rashid and seconded by Mr. Jim Prather.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Jan

Rashid, & Mr. Michael Maguire

Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried.

"The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, and or dismissal of specific employees of the public body, or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity." 5 ILCS 120/2 (c) (1)

The Executive Committee exited the Closed Session at 10:10 and returned to Open Session.

6. ACTION ITEMS

Motion to approve Action Item 1. Lease Addendum - Phoenix Academy as presented by Mr. John Jonak and seconded by Dr. Jan Rashid.

Roll Call:

MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid, & Mr.

Michael Maguire Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried.

Motion to approve Action Item 2. Richlee Transportation Contract Extension FY24 as presented by Dr. Kristin Kopta and seconded by Mr. John Jonak.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid, & Mr.

Michael Maguire Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried.

Motion to approve Action Item 3. Administrator Framework

Motion Tabled

7. ITEMS INITIATED BY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Dr. Kopta acknowledged appreciation for Mr. Wolf's presentation to the Pennoyer School Board about LASEC's role and the services it provides to member districts.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:15 as presented by Dr. Jan Rashid and seconded by Mr. John Jonak.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid, & Mr.

Michael Maguire Nayes: none

Absent: Dr. Diego Giraldo, Mr. Jim Prather, Dr. Nick Polyak, & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried.

Respectfully submitted, Kevin M. Wolf Executive Director