MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

Held at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 9, 2022, in the Conference Room of LASEC offices, located at 10401 W. Grand Avenue, Franklin Park, Illinois 60131.

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Mr. Maguire called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Roll Call:

Present: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan

Rashid, Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak, Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

3. DISCUSSION / INFORMATION ITEMS

1. Director's Report

Clarified that TAS will provide support to district teams to facilitate requirements for the RTO plan implementation and annual review. This will include TAS's working with District leadership to hold annual team meeting and submitting documentation to ISBE.

2. Professional Learning Update

Districts request frequent and consistent communication for new staff to ensure access to professional learning opportunities.

3. Cash Flow Report-June

4. ESY 2022

Approximately 60% of previous staff returned to work ESY this year.

5. Tentative FY23 Budget

Reviewed the why and the what behind the cost centers for new leaders. In the review it was noted that the OT/PT cost center has decreased as a result of being able to hire staff instead of contracting with agencies. The DRS cost was clarified by explaining what the service is and who receives the service (transition services at the high school level). It was reviewed that Tier 1 services will increase based on the costs associated with FMLA coverages. A request was made to share the dollar amounts for each Districts allocation of professional development funds.

6. Stipends

The stipends were reviewed and will be assigned for this school year. The communication stipend will have target goals attached to determine ongoing need after this school year.

MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

4. CONSENT AGENDA

- 1. Accounts Payable Dated: 6/1/2022-7/29/2022 \$157,789.02
- 2. The EC Minutes for Special Meeting June 15th, 2022
- 3. The EC Minutes for Special Meeting June 29th, 2022
- 4. Personnel:
 - a. FY23 Hires & Resignations
 - b. ESY Hires Summer 2022

Motion to approve the consent agenda as presented by Mr. Maguire and seconded by Dr. Polyak.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

5. CLOSED SESSION

Did not move to closed session.

6. ACTION ITEMS

Motion to approve Action Item 1. EDU Contract for OT, SY 22-23 as presented by Dr. Katzin and seconded by Dr. Polyak.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

Motion to approve Action Item 2. Contract for Director of Phoenix Academy – Korine Fiorito as presented by Dr. Kopta and seconded by Dr. Rashid.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

Motion to approve Action Item 3. Jelani Ed Services, LLC Contract 2022-2023 as presented by Dr. Katzin and seconded by Dr. Rashid.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

MINUTES FOR, LEYDEN AREA SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BUSINESS MEETING

Motion to approve Action Item 4. Approve LASEC FY23 Tentative Budget as presented by Dr. Polyak and seconded by Dr. Rashid.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

7. ITEMS INITIATED BY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

None

8. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:00am as presented by Dr. Kopta and seconded by Dr. Rashid.

Ayes: Mr. John Jonak, Dr. Kristin Kopta, Dr. Diego Giraldo, Dr. David H. Katzin, Dr. Jan Rashid,

Mr. Michael Maguire, & Dr. Nick Polyak

Nayes: None

Absent: Mr. Jim Prather & Dr. Jennifer Kelsall

Motion Carried

Respectfully submitted, Kevin M. Wolf Executive Director